ERWC Steering Committee

Name Title Affiliation Email Address
John Edlund (Chair) Professor Department of English and Foreign Languages, California State Polytechnic University Pomona jredlund@cpp.edu
Meline Akashian Assistant Principal Temecula Valley High School, Temecula Valley Unified School District makashian@tvusd.k12.ca.us
Adele Arellano Professor College of Education Teaching Credentials, California State University Sacramento ara@csus.edu
Debra Boggs Director K-12 Literacy, Stanislaus County Office of Education dboggs@stancoe.org
Roberta Ching Professor Department of English, California State University Sacramento chingrj@csus.edu
Kim Flachmann Professor/Director Department of English/Writing Programs, California State University Bakersfield kflachmann@csub.edu
Jennifer Fletcher Associate Professor Division of Humanities and Communication, California State University Monterey Bay fletcher@csumb.edu
Nelson Graff Director University Writing Program, California State University Monterey Bay ngraff@csumb.edu
Lisa Rochford Professor English Department, Sierra College lrochford@sierracolledge.edu
Norman Unrau Professor Emeritus Division of Curriculum and Instruction, California State University Los Angeles nunrau@calstatela.edu
Nancy Brynelson (Staff) Co-Director Center for the Advancement of Reading, California State University, Chancellor’s Office nbrynelson@calstate.edu

 

High School Working Committee

Name Title Affiliation Email Address
Nelson Graff (Lead) Director University Writing Program, California State University Monterey Bay ngraff@csumb.edu
Meline Akashian Assistant Principal Temecula Valley High School, Temecula Valley Unified School District makashian@tvusd.k12.ca.us
Virginia Crisco Associate Professor/Co-ordinator Department of English/First Year Writing Program, California State University Fresno vcrisco@csufresno.edu
Jennifer Fletcher Associate Professor Division of Humanities and Communication, California State University Monterey Bay jfletcher@csumb.edu
Chris Street Professor Department of Secondary Education, California State University Fullerton cstreet@fullerton.edu
Raquel Topete Instructional Coach East Side Union High School District topeter@esuhsd.org

 

Middle School Working Committee

Name Title Affiliation Email Address
Roberta Ching (Lead) Professor Department of English, California State University Sacramento chingrj@csus.edu
Debra Boggs (Co-Lead) Director K-12 Literacy, Stanislaus County Office of Education dboggs@stancoe.org
Mary Adler Professor English Program, California State University Channel Islands mary.adler@csuci.edu
Vacant Teacher    
Shirley Hargis Consultant English language Arts Department, Fresno County Office of Education shargis@fcoe.org
Lisa Rochford Professor English Department, Sierra College lrochford@sierracolledge.edu
Kathleen Rowlands Professor/Director Department of Secondary Education/Cal State Northridge Writing Project, California State University Northridge kathleen.rowlands@csun.edu

 

Expansion Committee

Name Title Affiliation Email Address
Adele Arellano (Lead) Professor College of Education Teaching Credentials, California State University Sacramento ara@csus.edu
Lisa Benham Coordinator Clear Administrative Services Credential, Fresno County Office of Education lbenham@fcoe.org
Kim Flachmann Professor/Director Department of English/Writing Programs, California State University Bakersfield kflachmann@csub.edu
Marcy Merrill Professor College of Education Teaching Credentials, California State University Sacramento merrills@csus.edu
Norman Unrau Professor (Emeritus) Division of Curriculum and Instruction, California State University Los Angeles nunrau@calstatela.edu
Karin Wescom Curriculum and Instructional Coach Curriculum and Professional Learning Department, Elk Grove Unified School District kwescom@egusd.net